Georgia Section

A home for members and friends of the American Chemical Society's Georgia Section throughout the greater Atlanta area and its vicinity.

Herty Medal Undergraduate Research Symposium

Friday, September 21, 2018

Herty Medal Undergraduate Research Symposium

LVIS, Building E
Georgia Gwinnett College
1000 University Center Ln
Lawrenceville, GA 30043

Friday, September 21, 2018: Herty Medal Undergraduate Research Symposium (HMURS)

Dr. Sandra J. Rosenthal, 2018 Herty Medalist

The Study and Utility of Single Quantum Dots There and Back Again; Structure-Photophysics Correlation to Single Protein Trackingocation:

Georgia Gwinnett College

Registration and abstract submission deadline 5:00 pm, Friday, September 14, 2018.

Register at

RSVP & abstract submission deadline 5:00 pm, Friday, September 14, 2018 
RSVP & abstract submission deadline 5:00 pm, Friday, September 14, 2018 
RSVP & abstract submission deadline 5:00 pm, Friday, September 14, 2018 
RSVP & abstract submission deadline 5:00 pm, Friday, September 14, 2018 

Full program details

Georgia Section ChemLuminary Nominations

Congratulations to the ACS Georgia Section and 2017 Chair Ron Hunter for being nationally recognized as ChemLuminary Award Finalists in five categories for 2017 activity and events:

  • Outstanding On-going CCED Event
  • Outstanding Public Outreach Event Organized by a Student Group
  • Best Overall Local Section Minority Affairs
  • Outstanding U.S. National Chemistry Olympiad
  • Best Overall Women Chemists Committee Local Section
The winners in these and other categories will be announced and the presentation of awards will occur at the 256th ACS National Meeting in Boston on August 21.

2018 Herty Medalist Announced

Professor Sandra J. Rosenthal is the recipient of the 2018 Herty Medal as awarded by the Georgia Section of the American Chemical Society recognizing outstanding work and service by a chemist in the Southeast.

Prof. Rosenthal is Jack and Pamela Egan Professor of Chemistry, Professor of Physics, Pharmacology, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and Materials Science at Vanderbilt University and is Director of the Vanderbilt Institute of Nanoscale Science and Engineering (VINSE). She is being recognized for “developing nanocrystal probes for neuroscience and white light emitting nanocrystals, as well as her contributions to improving STEM education across Tennessee.”(Photo Credit: Vanderbilt University/Daniel Dubois)

More details on the Awards page.

2018 Monthly Meeting Schedule (Planned)





January 29

Dr. Holly Carpenter

Clinical Laboratory Diagnostics

Mary Mac’s Tea Room

February 26

Prof. David Lynn and Ms. Lisa Paulson


Emory University

March 26

Dr. Theresa Chamblee

Flavor Chemistry


April 11

Dr. Marie Pileni

ACS-SCF Franco-American Lectureship

Georgia Gwinnett College

May 15

Mr. Shannon “Max” McCall

Percy Julian Awards

Spelman College

June 9


Bond-B-Q Cookout

Cobb Park

September 20

Prof. Sandra Rosenthal 

Herty Award Dinner

Georgia Tech Hotel



50/60 Year Member Luncheon and Student Posters

Kennesaw State University



Environmental Chemistry

Eclipse de Luna, Buckhead



Annual Holiday Party

5 Seasons, West Midtown

Showcase Your Chemical Business

If you would like to showcase your business to the attendees of a monthly dinner meeting, please send your response to Ajay Malia.
This invitation is available to the first respondee only for each month’s dinner meeting.  Space will be provided for advertising materials.  Please make arrangements with Ajay.
This offer is being made on behalf of the Georgia Section’s Chemical Businesses Group.
For information about the Group, please contact Dr. Maria Beug-Deeb at